Kansas Division of the Budget


Division Staff

The Director of the Budget is Shawn Sullivan, a gubernatorial appointee. The office is staffed by professional budget analysts who analyze state agency budgets and perform other duties as needed. These include monitoring cashflow of the State General Fund and other funds, staffing various committees and taskforces, and performing policy analysis on specific issues. The Division also includes two administrative staff members who provide purchasing, personnel, scheduling and other support. To send email to an individual, click on the appropriate name. All Division staff can be reached at (785) 296-2436.

Julie Thomas
Deputy Director

Department for Children & Families
Board of Healing Arts
Health Care Stabilization

State General Fund Planning Report
Budget System Administrator

Jeff Arpin
Principal Analyst

Governor/Lt. Governor
Legislative Agencies
Department of Education
School for the Blind
School for the Deaf
Insurance Department
Board of Mortuary Arts

Website & Technology Coordinator
SGF Insurance Premiums

Staff Training

Vicki Helsel
Principal Analyst

Department of Health & Environment
Department for Aging & Disability Svcs.
State Hospitals
Board of Pharmacy
Board of Nursing
Board of Technical Professions

Legislative Tracking

Konnie Leffler
Principal Analyst

Department of Wildlife, Parks & Tourism
Department of Agriculture
Secretary of State
Water Office
Kansas Corporation Commission
Citizens Utility Ratepayer Board
Kansas State Fair
Board of Cosmetology
Board of Barbering
Comm. on Peace Officers Standards & Training
Board of Veterinary Examiners

State Water Plan Fund Coordinator
Demographic Coordinator

Sean Tomb
Principal Analyst

Department of Revenue
Department of Commerce
Department of Labor
Racing & Gaming Commission
Real Estate Appraisal Board
Real Estate Commission
State Bank Commissioner
Department of Credit Unions
Securities Commissioner
Board of Accountancy

Tax Policy
Cash Management
SGF Transfers

Revenue Estimates Coordinator
Econ. Dev. Initiatives Fund Coordinator
Exp. Lottery Act Rev. Fund Coordinator

Brendan Yorkey
Principal Analyst

Department of Administration
Department of Transportation
Attorney General
Administrative Hearings
Board of Tax Appeals
Abstracters Board of Examiners
Kansas Human Rights Commission
Dental Board

Debt Service Coordinator
Financial Disclosure & Reporting
Budget System Administrator Backup

John Kirk
Principal Analyst

Adjutant General
Department of Corrections
Correctional Facilities
Juvenile Correctional Facilities
Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Highway Patrol
State Fire Marshal
Emergency Medical Services Board

Capital Budget
Legislative Tracking

Sheena Ward
Principal Analyst

Board of Regents
Regents Universities
Sentencing Commission
Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board

Federal Funds Coordinator
Legislative Tracking

Luke Drury
Budget Analyst

State Treasurer
Historical Society
Judicial Council
Veterans Affairs
Governmental Ethics
State Library
Board of Optometry
Hearing Instruments
Board of Indigents Defense

SGF Agency Earnings
SGF Interest
Legislative Tracking

Shelly Dechand
Public Service Administrator